Lost 3rd Gear!

walterzee

Has my "tranny" shit the bed?? So for the last couple of months I've been noticing 

that I've been missing 3rd gear every once and a while...  So I started to 

make a good solid shifts into 3rd, no problem. Thinking I was getting lazy with my shifting. 

So today I was about an hour into a three hour ride when the bike wasn't 

able to engage in 3rd gear. There was a good solid gear grinding sound when I tried.

Not a very pleasant sound.

So I managed to get home by simply shifting from second right into fourth. 

So has my Tranny bit the dust after 39k? Or has a one of the springs "let go" 

I'm guessing I'll need to pull the motor out to possibly rebuild the bastard.

Something I've never done before.  :luigi:  

Best 

Walterzee

I've been missing 3rd gear every once and a while...  So I started to 

make a good solid shifts into 3rd, no problem. 

Something I've never done before.  :luigi:  

Best 

Walterzee

ohh dear... it was trying to tell you something, never mind, hopfully you will be able to sort it through the left side engine in

• 8 months later...

hmm, my V11 Sport 2001 is quite often missing its third gear... Is that a warning of what is to come I wonder...It is within the recall range linked to over. Nothing shows up when checking the Piaggo-site, but then it states: "this service pertains all active recall campaign since 2009", and this recall is from 2003. I just bought it, was not planning on opening the gearbox just now... :glare:  

In the U.S., the transmission recall is still listed as "active" by the NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) website. Not sure if the recall applies to European market bikes. Probably.

A local dealer here did the recall work on mine (9 shop hours according to Piaggio!) 11 years after it was issued in 2003. Worth doing as there were reports at the time of the rear wheel locking up at speed. Awkward.

So.....get it done.