OK, I give up....

Guest Nogbad

Guest Nogbad

The detonation was truly awful today, couldn't use anything like full throttle even over 5000 rpm. As well as that the idle became erratic, running mostly at 1750 rpm, then occasionally misfiring and resettling at 1250 rpm. Outside temperature was 30°C.

I don't want more power, I just want to use the power there is.

I don't want noisier pipes either.

At a guess, I would say the ignition was over advanced or the mixture too lean or both. Unfortunately, both these functions are hidden inside the black magic box.

So - do I spend money with so called experts? Do I fit a PCIII, or do I give up on all these solutions and get a My15M? I understand engine tuning, but I'm not really good at computer software. I have a colourtune, vacuum gauges and an accurate gas analyser with oxygen, CO and NOx.

This sounds too simple, but have you pulled the spark plugs & checked them? Those stock plug wires are crap too, make sure they havent broken at the plug end. Thats the best I know to do, I'll leave the more technical stuff to the experts.

This sounds too simple, but have you pulled the spark plugs & checked them? Those stock plug wires are crap too, make sure they havent broken at the plug end. Thats the best I know to do, I'll leave the more technical stuff to the experts.

As far as spark plugs goes I have in use the iridium ones and yes they're the best to use. At least that's also the opinion of Dynotec.

I would start by the simplest and chepest items related to the problem.

Spark plugs are a good start. With the air cooling engine not all spark plugs will take well the high peak temps they may be exposed... even do they may look good they may be gone... certain plugs will work better and longer, but my path is to use regular ones but replace them often. Then spark plugs wiring, then ignition coils...