Diesel Guzzi Project

Guest Nogbad

Given the high price of oil, and the shortages I have experienced this Christmas, I have been musing on the possibility of "dieselisation" of a Guzzi engine.

This could then be run on biodiesel created in the shed from vegetable oil, freeing biking from the oil companies thrall.

I guess I would be content with 30 - 45 bhp.

When I was a callow apprentice at Leyland in 1980 we had a dieselised "B" series petrol engine and it did work.

I know a lot of people on here are doing engine mods, and this is kind of similar in concept, but with a different ethos, i.e. sustainability and economy, rather than wasteful performance.

Guest ratchethack

Say Nog, I think it's a capital idea! You can get Tx Redneck to help you install a Jake brake.

This'd no doubt do wonders for the life of your Brembo's.

It'd also help wake up the brain-dead dozing behind the wheel in traffic... :o

Given the high price of oil, and the shortages I have experienced this Christmas, I have been musing on the possibility of "dieselisation" of a Guzzi engine.

I know a lot of people on here are doing engine mods, and this is kind of similar in concept, but with a different ethos, i.e. sustainability and economy, rather than wasteful performance.

72490[/snapback]

Splendid idea, but:

GM tried "dieselization" of their gasoline car engines back in the 70s after the 1st or 2nd oil crisis. They learned to start from a clean slate after numerous customers complained about the hood ["bonnet?"] blowing off their cars as the cylinder head exited the engine compartment in a rapid vertical direction... :grin: