Punctures...

Martin Barrett

You may have read elsewhere that I suffered my first puncture in over 18000 miles on the Guzzi.

When I have my touring equipment on I have a CO2 and Mushroom repair kit with me. I've never used it.

With my slow puncture today in my new tyre circa 500miles I was able to make it to an air line and then leapfrog to my local workshop where they then put pink goo (Ultra Seal) down the valve. This is normaly put in prior to the puncture. But has done the trick.

I've never used it before. All my punctures have been towards the end of the life of the tyre so have allways replaced them.

What say you?

You may have read elsewhere that I suffered my first puncture in over 18000 miles on the Guzzi.

When I have my touring equipment on I have a CO2 and Mushroom repair kit with me. I've never used it.

With my slow puncture today in my new tyre circa 500miles I was able to make it to an air line and then leapfrog to my local workshop where they then put pink goo (Ultra Seal) down the valve. This is normaly put in prior to the puncture. But has done the trick.

I've never used it before. All my punctures have been towards the end of the life of the tyre so have allways replaced them.

What say you?

76205[/snapback]

BMW tire repair kit, best 30bucks a guy could spend. Last summer, on a Sunday morning, 55 miles from the nearest town, Washington. My buddy hits a broken bottle on the road, and puts a 1 1/4 inch rip into his rear tire. Out comes the kit, the first plug doesn't do it. Second plug just about. The final plug, I tell him to wait longer than the 30 seconds he's waited on the last 2 before he puts the c02. 2 minutes, puts pressure into it, and away we go, with him 2 up with full gear, and [foolishly at speeds over 90 mph] away wee go, 400 miles all the way back to Vancouver. He even commuted for a month on it before he got a new tire [the tire was brand new when he got the cut].

Can't say enough good things about it.

Ciao, Steve G.