Faulty ignition

Guest ANDERSON

Guest ANDERSON

Hi i have a 1997 cali ev with 4000 miles on clock,it has developed a proble with not starting,sometimes bike starts ok, then sometimes when ignition is turned on the ignition lights come on but no power to starter and fuelpump does not run.The rev counter has gone dead,anybody know of a good replacement?

Thanks

D Anderson :bier:

Hi i have a 1997 cali ev with 4000 miles on clock,it has developed a proble with not starting,sometimes bike starts ok, then sometimes when ignition is turned on the ignition lights come on but no power to starter and fuelpump does not run.The rev counter has gone dead,anybody know of a good replacement?

Thanks

88250[/snapback]

I am no expert but is it your relays that need looking at. :huh2:

Gary. Oh and welcome. Where in scotland are you

Guest Bob in CT

Thanks

88250[/snapback]

Check you neutral switch. If the side stand is out bike won't start with flakey neutral switch. Just went through this with a friends bike. We were installing a power commander and had the bike in a stand with the side stand out. Neutral light came on when we started the bike as soon as he rev up the bike it would die and not start. After checking the relays I realized the neutral light wasn't on, put the side stand up problem solved. He had a new switch but didn't have it with him. The smile on his face after test ridding with the power commander said it all :bier:

Guest Bob in CT

Thanks

88250[/snapback]